RSS

What the hell is this NTIWTKOT crap???

20 May

Okay, Imma test this out… (c) Erykah Badu

What is NTIWTKOT?  To understand what this blog is, let me take you back to 1981…

I was in pre-school and would get home around 12:30 every day.  While eating my peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and coloring, my mother would invariably watch The Young and The Restless.  I paid no attention, because at that point, if it wasn’t Mr. Rogers, Sesame Street, The Electric Company, or What’s Happening, I didn’t care.  But one day, I came home and I was greeted by the woman we now know as Nikki Newman stripping.  (See for yourself: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQh5g_4GDPg) They didn’t show anything, of course;  looking back, it barely moves me.  But to my 4 year old mind, seeing Nikki half-nekkid was my end all, be all (except for when the adults would watch Body & Soul and I would peek around the corner and see my first glimpses of bare breasts!)  Of course, I pretended I wasn’t paying attention so my mom wouldn’t get wise and turn it off…

The funny thing was that long after Nikki became a Honest Ho [ (c) Della Reese in Harlem Nights], I started watching again….it became a reminder of a time when things were simple.  I started watching while I was in junior high during the summers.  Once I got out of college, I started programming my VCR to watch Y & R….DVRs have made my life much easier.

As a guy, it’s not something we talk about a lot, but I know I’m not alone.  There are a lot of guys who had similar experiences, being raised by their mothers and grandmothers.  So this blog is basically my semi-daily commentary on the happenings in Genoa City, from a male point of view (tangent:  That sounds like Men on…from In Living Color…wow).  I might write some in-depth analysis, I might simply ask questions, I might post a list, or I might just do it stream of consciousness style.   Come with me on this journey to Genoa City and feel free to comment…not that I watch that kind of thing….

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “What the hell is this NTIWTKOT crap???

  1. iWroteLazarus

    May 21, 2010 at 12:26 am

    Okay, so I didn’t watch today’s episode yet but all I have to say is I LOVE the new Abby! The is a brilliant actress and she is a very logical progression to where the character was going. And she read her parents for filth! Sorry, that’s my gay slang — I mean she gave her parents a good dressing down about their own shortcomings.

    LOVE THIS BLOG.

     

Leave a Reply

 
