RSS

He decided to die….

03 Feb

He would not come down
from the cross just to save Himself;
He decided to die just to save me.

 

 

I was really sad to see Cane die today.  Like, really, really sad.  I don’t really believe in soap opera deaths unless the advance the show in some way, particularly the characters that the deceased left behind.

But, in my humble opinion, Y&R did an excellent job at doing just that.  Cane had to die in order to allow his survivors to shine.

In general, I consider Lily to be a vapid, whiny shrew who doesn’t deserve the mantle “Drucilla’s Daughter” so it was no surprise to see her so broken in today’s episode.  But I still reel at the possibilities for her character.  She will be sad, certainly, but she doesn’t have to remain broken.  Maybe this will be the turning point that finally gives her an edge.

Although Malcolm still gives me “runaway slave” in the delivery of his lines, I was enthralled by the juxtaposition of the two Winters brothers.  Level-headed Neil asks the hotheaded Malcolm not to blame Sofia for everything that has happened.  But how can he not when his chosen one would hide such secrets from him?

And Sofia.  We’re finally seeing her more vulnerable side.  Not to mention the evil Colin.  Although I hate that Cane had to die, I would have never felt sorry for Colin without it happening.

So perhaps Colin had to die in order for the Winters clan to shine.

And before I forget… Jill and Katherine’s scene (shown above in the middle) was inspired.  They are superb actors who definitely convinced me that they were really mother and daughter.  And more importantly, in that moment, the characters themselves believed that they were mother and daughter.

I get it, Y&R.  I really do.  Just don’t disappoint us with how you handle it from here on out.

Not that I watch that kind of thing….

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
