RSS

Ambivalence Reigns…

12 May

Real life is rarely black or white; it’s often in that vast gray area between. Sometimes, the great thing about soaps is that it gives you the clarity that doesn’t exist in real life. For better and for worse, The Young & The Restless has never been one for that, which gives it more of a realism than other soaps.

Once again, this week, ambivalence reigned. I just don’t know how I feel about two of the major storylines going right now.

First up, we have the Ashley-Abby-Tucker deal. Part of me understands where Abby is coming from and she is right about her mother’s choice in men. Granted, you have to show due respect and deference to your mother, but I get her. Another part of me is just like “let it go”….Ashley’s a grown ass woman, and can do what she wants. The main thing that gets me is the vitriol with which Abby is approaching this situation. Her level of hatred doesn’t really match anything Tucker’s done, to the point where Rashid (BloodyAfrikaans) asked me if Tucker raped Abby or something.

The second storyline that I’m really ambivalent about is the Diane-Victor marriage. Part of me feels bad for Diane. Victor treats her like garbage….he always has. He discards her whenever she becomes inconvenient. The other part of me has no sympathy for her. She went into the marriage for the wrong reasons, she was warned about Victor and has experienced Victor discarding her before. She’s foolish for entering into a marriage with Victor again.

What do you think? What’s your take on these issues?

BTW,on a completely unrelated random note, if Republicans can’t accept Common and think he’s a thug, there’s no hope for the rest of us….

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 12, 2011 in Episode Commentary, Gumbo

 

One response to “Ambivalence Reigns…

  1. Rashid

    May 12, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    I feel this same ambivalence. And yes, Abby’s descent into madness (sorry for the hyperbole) definitely seems like a little much just for the future stepdad you don’t like. She’s playing it like there is something huge that he’s done.

    Yet I find it hard to be on team Abby if she is manipulating this Diane/Tucker hook up.

    I don’t know. I just don’t know.

     

Leave a Reply

 
