RSS

The Inexplicable Return of Evil Adam?

28 Jul

So….I’m sure somewhere in my first 70 posts, I’ve mentioned somewhere in the neighborhood of millions dozens of times about my failed grad school experience.  How I have 10s of thousands in loans, but no Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology to show for it, due not to my grades, but rather the worst case of writers’ block in history.  (Sidenote: If you’ve paid attention to my blogging patterns, you can see how streaky and undisciplined I am…shut up, Rashid!)  I say all this to say that those thousands of dollars spent on my graduate psychology education are about to pay off for you.

I’ve previously compared Adam Newman to Darth Vader, especially in that Lord Vader had one speck of light in the darkness that consumed him, his love for Padme’.  Similarly, Adam’s one shining light was his love for Sharon.  However, did I mention how Darth Vader’s last encounter with Padme’ went?  No?  Yeah, he killed her.  Similarly, Adam figuratively killed Sharon, luring her into a false wedding, then leaving her at the alter, and more importantly, thowing away the evidence that could clear her of murdering my Skye. 

Adam’s actions simply don’t make sense on the surface.  Sharon has slept with Nick since her and Adam have been together.  Why such a violent reaction to Sharon falling in with Sam, who Adam has no confirmation of her sleeping with?  It seems like killing an ant with a sledgehammer, until it occured to me that Sam is what Adam was raised to be by his mother.  Simple, country values…a good man.  We know that the only thing that truly draws regret from Adam is how his mom would have viewed him, as evidenced by his breakdown on the stairs in the ranch during his gaslighting of Ashley.  He went ballistic, not because Sharon betrayed him, but because she betrayed him with a man he KNOWS is better than him, and is what he should be.  When you come face to face with the best you, it’s jarring.  It completely shakes your foundations. 

When you know that, Adam’s actions make perfect sense, in his twisted mind.  Making Adam more one dimensional again limits him as a character.  I’m curious to see where they go with him now, because his one redeeming quality is gone.

On another non-Y & R note, I’m falling in love with wrestling again.  All because of one man…CM Punk.  CM Punk has apparently been given some latitude to go off-script, single-handedly reviving WWE, and making Raw seem must see again.  It started with a worked shoot promo (reality based, but not entirely real)

and culminated with the most scintallating, organic outpouring of emotion in recent wrestling memory two weeks later, when CM Punk won the WWE title at Money in the Bank

I’ve often lamented the too slick, sports entertainmenty feel of wrestling today.  I’ve said their booking is horrible and there are no great characters, because they’re all written by the same people who write scripts for everyone.  If this saga has shown nothing else, it has shown that the wrestlers need to be unleashed again and given a chance to shine.  CM Punk has done what I thought was impossible;  he has made Raw must see TV again, returning last Monday night.  I only hope it can be sustained.  However, I’m enjoying the ride for what it is….not that I watch that kind of thing!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 28, 2011 in Gumbo

 

One response to “The Inexplicable Return of Evil Adam?

  1. Rashid

    July 28, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    Lol… I see the shout out.

    I think you’re spot-on about Adam. Definitely a mistake to make him into a one-note monster again. However, I wonder who he was talking to on the phone the other day…

     

Leave a Reply

 
