RSS

Naw, we good: Why Y&R Doesn’t Need Drucilla Winters

09 Oct

In 2006, after six months of employment with many accomplishments under my belt, I resigned from a good job.  I never received the proper level of support from my immediate supervisor and the working environment was fairly toxic.  The straw which broke the camel’s back was when he wouldn’t give me two days of leave to go out of town on a speaking engagement.

So I quit.  It was a good-paying job for somebody living with family, prior to the economic downturn.

Now, ask me would I quit a job in 2011?  Heck no.  (But I’ve been laid off from one.)

When I left that organization in 2006, they were fine without me for five more years until they ceased operating this past January.  Yes, they made decisions which I didn’t agree with, and neither did my friends who I left behind.  And when my replacement didn’t work out, I did put into the universe that I would return to work there if they doubled my salary.  Of course that didn’t happen.

They moved on.  I moved on.  We’ve both had ups and downs.  But one thing I didn’t do was openly and actively campaign for my job back.  I had quit.  It was over.

***

I read with interest the tweets of the actress who portrayed Drucilla Winters.  She is indeed a talented actress and I do miss her character from time to time.  And I agree that the way her character was written out was stupid at best.  A cliff?  Really?  And somehow Sharon’s ass living out shined Drucilla’s death!  Where they do that at?

I have also heard the actresses various radio and podcast tirades against the show’s production staff and certain actors.  Basically, although this is a woman who campaigns for her job back, this doesn’t sound like a woman who wants to have a job.

But my gripe is not with the actress and her campaign.  I will attempt to describe with this post why there is no need for Drucilla in Genoa City.

First, she’s dead.  I think we’ve had way too many resurrection stories on soap operas in general.  True, the body was never found.  But I think a more compelling story will be when they do find her body and have to bury her.  Neil, Lily, Devon, and Malcolm don’t seem to have truly healed from this and I think properly burying her would be a good way to exhibit their chops.

Second, Neil has moved on many times over.  When I think of Dru and Neil, I just don’t have the automatic “spark” in my head that I have when I think of Jesse and Angie from All My Children – and I rarely ever watched AMC!  Neil and Dru have practically been estranged for longer than they were together.  if she did come back, I wouldn’t want Neil with her.

Third (and this is not a good reason, but it is among the more valid ones) I never saw the mother-daughter chemistry between Lily and Drucilla like I should have.  I am not sure if that’s in the writing or the acting.  In fact, I may have said before in these very pages that I just plain don’t like the Lily character and wished for her death when she had cancer.  Isn’t that awful?  But I was so eager to sacrifice Lily so that Neil would have something – anything – to do or talk about.  If Drucilla came back, what would the implication be for Lily?  I just don’t see it.

The rest of my reasons are a hodge podge:

  • Leslie Michaelson is a baaaaaaaaad hush your mouth and we need to see more of HER.  (I say this not because we can’t have additional black actresses, but for financial reasons, use the ones you have!)
  • There’s still some life left in Sofia’s character – she’s one of the few that has a life outside of being a Winters and I love her more when she’s devious with Tucker McCall.
  • Yolanda/Harmony is about to make ALL A Y’ALL forget about Drucilla.
That’s it….I know the Drucilla stans are about to light my ass on fire…. bring it on!
 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 9, 2011 in Rashid's Take

 

3 responses to “Naw, we good: Why Y&R Doesn’t Need Drucilla Winters

  1. Sunshyne1922

    October 9, 2011 at 11:11 am

    Very good article! I couldn’t agree more. I love the phrase, “You’re an ex for a reason;” that’s why no one should be pining for Dru to every come back, including the actress. It’s over, and there’s other more meaningful work that the actress has done & will do. Therefore, let Dru RIP.

    I’m just impressed that you’re still watching this farce of a formerly great soap. However, I couldn’t ignore this article on one if my fave soap characters ever.

     
  2. Augie

    October 9, 2011 at 11:17 am

    I agree and I like the lawyer (Leslie) and his chemistry and her no nonsense attitude isn’t forced its in those eyes. Lily (lawd) bring back Davette (sp)!!!! She’s just not a good fit for Malcom or Neil’s daughter

     
  3. Yvette

    October 9, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    I think Dru would bring sass and style back to the show. I love Julia and Debbi Morgan but
    Dru would make it better. Just a thought

     

Leave a Reply

 
